Blogging about nature? It’s only natural

IMG_0826

This blog is about one person’s quest to connect with nature while living and working in the city. My name is Steph and this whole seeking nature thing is fairly new to me. I’ve always lived in cities or suburbs. I’m not a biologist or ecologist and until recently, my main thoughts about nature were limited to a passing interest in the weather report and an increasing sense of doom about climate change.

So why have I suddenly taken an interest in nature? I think I’ve been drawn to it lately as part of my search for  balance. Nature seems to me to be an antidote for the increasingly hectic pace of life. Scientific studies have shown that nature is therapeutic and can enhance our physical and mental well-being (I’ll be writing more about this in a future post).

Why am I blogging about it? Two reasons:

1. Taking nature appreciation to the next level — Yes, nature is beautiful, but when you dig deeper and learn more about plants and animals, how they’ve adapted to the environment and the ways they interact with each other, nature becomes not only beautiful but awe-inspiring. By blogging about nature, I’m learning more and appreciating more.

2. Sharing with others –I’ve been led to believe the internet is a pretty powerful tool for connecting with other people who share similar interests. Hopefully other people who are interested in discovering nearby nature will find some information of use here and can share their knowledge as well, like some kind of symbiotic relationship.

Leave a comment